but i'd like to try
Sunday, June 21st, 2020 08:46 pmI spent a few days playing Dishonored: Death of the Outsider, which was… not entirely enjoyable. I was struggling to remember why I had only played it once, so I rolled for it against Dishonored 2, which I had already played in January, but then I started playing it and it kind of came back to me slowly how poor the gameplay is compared to other installments of the series. The other two games are big on 'play your way' but there are a handful of really bad bottlenecks in this game where you're forced to go one way. The worst one was definitely outside the bank, with a ton of guards and dogs that are always too quick to sense my presence even when I'm relatively well hidden, playing on easy, and in possession of a stealth upgrade… Well. At least I like the story a lot, short though it is.
Same can't be said for The Last of Us 2 I pretty much binge watched it on youtube and um… did not have a good time. After I'd noped out of playing Days Gone and it's zombie hordes, which I did preorder, I thought it was best to wait until I'd seen this first and made sure I'd be able to get through it. In any case, I've written up my extremely disappointed review of it over here.
I'm actually pretty proud of that actually. It was really tough to write, but I wrote it and posted it as soon as I could. Like, I got my opinions out there on the same day I finished watching it, that's kind of wild for me. I did that.
I even brushed the dust off a small fic I drafted a couple of years ago and started gently editing it, so maybe -- loath as I am to use the word -- there's hope...